

Districts of Assam 2024

The total number of districts in the state of Assam as of now is 35. It is a state located in the north-eastern region of India. It is connected with the rest of India by a narrow corridor called 'Siliguri Corridor' or 'the Chicken's Neck'. It runs for about 56 km below the foothills of Bhutan and Sikkim.

Many times, what happens is that when someone asks us how many districts there are in Assam, we are left blank. There is always a lingering confusion as to whether there are 32 districts or 33 districts, let alone 35. Now, to overcome that problem, we have prepared a table below where we have included the list of all 35 districts of Assam, along with the headquarter. If you are a student or someone willing to know about the districts of Assam in 2024, we hope this will definitely help.

In the table below, we have arranged the districts of Assam in an alphabetical order so that you can quickly sort out the information required.

<u>District</u>	<u>Headquarter</u>
Bajali	Pathsala (Madan Rowta Town)
Baksa	Mushalpur
Barpeta	Barpeta
Biswanath	Biswanath Chariali
Bongaigaon	Bongaigaon
Cachar	Silchar
Charaideo	Sonari
Chirang	Kajalgaon
Darrang	Mangaldoi
Dhemaji	Dhemaji
Dhubri	Dhubri
Dibrugarh	Dibrugarh
Dima Hasao	Haflong
Goalpara	Goalpara
Golaghat	Golaghat
Hailakandi	Hailakandi
Нојаі	Hojai (Sankardev Nagar)
Jorhat	Jorhat

Kamrup	Amingaon
Kamrup Metropolitan	Guwahati
Karbi Anglong	Diphu
Karimganj	Karimganj
Kokrajhar	Kokrajhar
Lakhimpur	North Lakhimpur
Majuli	Garamur
Morigaon	Morigaon
Nagaon	Nagaon
Nalbari	Nalbari
Sivasagar	Sivasagar
Sonitpur	Tezpur
South Salmara-Mankachar	Hatsingimari
Tamulpur	Tamulpur
Tinsukia	Tinsukia
Udalguri	Udalguri
West Karbi Anglong	Hamren

Table : Districts of Assam 2024

You must have noticed something while studying the table above. The name and headquarter of a few districts are the same. This should help you memorise the data of the table without much problem.

Practice multiple choice questions on Geography of Assam by clicking on this link.