

List of Assamese Authors and their Pen Names (Pseudonym)

What is a Pen Name (Pseudonym)

A 'Pen Name' or a 'Pseudonym' is a name that an author adopts and uses in place of their real name on the title page or byline of their works. It can also be a variation form of their own name in some situations.

Why do authors use pen names?

A pen name can be used for a variety of purposes, such as enhancing the author's name recognition or concealing the author's gender. A pen name can also be used in distancing the author from other works, shielding the author from criticism for their writings, combining several identities into one recognisable author, or for any number of purposes pertaining to the work's marketing or presentation.

Assamese Authors and their Pen Names

Many assamese authors, from novelists to poets, also used pen names while creating great works in assamese literature. The following table contains the names of assamese authors and their pen names and it has been arranged in alphabetical order.

Author	Pen name
Ananda Chandra Agarwala	Sri Harsha
Anandaram Dhekial Phukan	A Native
Banikanta Kakati	Bhabananda Pathak
Benudhar Sharma	Bihguti Bora
Bhabendra Nath Saikia	(1) Sanjay (2) Priya Bandhu (3) Satyapriyo Pathak
Bhubanmohan Baruah	Kanchan Baruah

Binanda Chandra Barua	Kerpai Sarma
Birinchi Kumar Barua	(1) Bina Baruah (2) Rashna Baruah
Bishnuprasad Rabha	Bishnupriya Rabha Tahkuria
Dinesh Chandra Goswami	Charu Dutta
Gunabhiram Barua	Guru Dutta
Hem Barua	Sonaram Chand
Hiren Gohain	Niranjan Phukan
Indira Goswami	Mamoni Raisom Goswami
Kamalakanta Bhattacharya	Astabakra
Kumud Chandra Hazarika	Ranju Hazarika
Lakshminath Bezbaruah	Kripabar Barbaruah
Mahendranath Deka Phukan	Monai Boiragi
Mahim Bora	Dhanbor Kai
Navakanta Barua	(1) Sima Dutta (2) Ekhud Kakaideu
Nirmal Prabha Bordoloi	Nila Baideo
Pabitra Kumar Deka	Rasheswar Hazarika
Parvati Prasad Baruva	Hoibor Abhoipuria
Promod Chandra Tamuly	Santanoo Tamuly
Rajanikanta Bordoloi	Bholai Sarma
Rebati Mohan Dutta Choudhury	Silabhadra
Robin Dey	Rongmon

Sarat Chandra Goswami	Bapchandra Bhagawati
Satyanath Bora	Ejon Asomiya
Syed Abdul Malik	(1) Ajagar (2) Swami Abhangananda
Surendranath Medhi	Saurav Kumar Chaliha
Umakanta Sarma	Pashupati Bharadwaj

Table: Assamese Authors and their Pen Names

You can also practice multiple choice questions on Assamese Authors and their Pen Names by clicking on the links below:-

- MCQ on Assamese Authors and their Pen Names Part 1
- MCQ on Assamese Authors and their Pen Names Part 2